The Book of Love: My Mom’s Alzheimer’s Journey

My mom’s Alzheimer’s journey ended on Wednesday. She died peacefully with her family by her side. There are more chapters to this story that I have been sharing with you but at the moment I am sitting here alone in my daughter’s Providence apartment waiting for my husband to arrive and join me at the wake and the funeral. I am not religious. I know these rituals help others but for me it’s a struggle.

For me songs are like prayers.  This one is for my Dad who lost the love of his life, his wife of 60 years. When we told him he had given her a wonderful life, he said, “No, she gave me a wonderful life.”

14 thoughts on “The Book of Love: My Mom’s Alzheimer’s Journey

  1. Dear Sheila,
    I am so sorry for your loss. It is hard to go on as a daughter without a mother. I feel that we mirror so much of our mothers expectations and dreams, that in a way it should be easier. But it’s been about two years since mine passed, and I still miss her. Peace to you and Rich during this time.
    Cai xo

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Sheila, this is a beautiful song, one I’ve never heard. Thank you. I’m sorry for what you’re going through. It’s tough, a bridge we all must cross…
    It’s a beautiful life, but as George Harrison said “all things must pass”.

    Much love to you and Rich

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I was so saddened to read of your mother’s passing while we were away.
    My sincerest condolences, Sheila, to all of you, especially your Dad.
    There are no words that can truly express such sorrow.

    Like

Why not leave a reply?

