Your Instincts Can Be Trusted

We have had a couple of magical mornings this week at the Inn and I am working on a blog about two consecutive mornings in particular. A story of Day Dream Believers whom I have neglected while pursuing my own daydream.

There have been some very busy, crazy days when we lose our rhythm. We are riding a learning curve and at times we get flustered which leads to bickering and crankiness.

I also haven’t had a lot of time to write which definitely makes me cranky but I have been reading. In an Amazon review of Life Is All This a reader compared me to Richard Ford. Somehow I had never come across this Pultizer Prize winner’s novels so I immediately set off for a walk down the street to the library and started with The Sportswriter, the first in a series of four Frank Bascombe stories.

I definitely see the similarities between my character Sam Ryder, Frank Bascombe, me, and possibly Richard Ford.

The reviewer wrote: I was reminded of Richard Ford’s writing as I read this: reflective, not rushed, pulling together life experiences in order to understand the current occupied space. The characters were well-drawn and ‘life is all this’ – great joy, great sorrow, regretful at times and hopeful at times, and gratitude for what we get, what we keep, and what we lose.

It was the gratitude bit that struck me this morning as I read in bed before getting up to make breakfast once again for people we had just met and may never see again.

Breakfast at the Inn

On page 132 I came across this:

“When you are fully in your emotions, when they are simple and appealing enough to be in, and the distance is closed between what you feel and what you might also feel, then your instincts can be trusted. It is the difference between a man who quits his job to become a fishing guide on Lake Big Trout, and who one day as he is paddling his canoe into the dock at dusk, stops paddling to admire the sunset and realizes how much he wants to be a fishing guide on Lake Big Trout; and another man who has made the same decision, stopped paddling at the same time, felt how glad he was, but also thought he could probably be a guide on Windigo Lake if he decided to, and might also get a better deal on canoes.” ~ The Sportswriter by Richard Ford

I realized this described a lot of the characters I write, particularly Sam Ryder. They are trying to answer the unanswerable questions. What is happiness? What is the meaning of life? They often find the answers in small every day moments.

Early morning in Boston, a small three bedroom condo in Back Bay. Melissa wandering into their room one morning, sucking her thumb and dragging her blanket behind her. An accomplished escape artist at two, she would toss her blanket over the railing then climb up and over the crib and make her way to their room, often in the middle of the night. Raising her arms above her head, she said to Sam,“Up,” indicating she wanted to get in bed with her mother. As Sam dressed for work, he watched Melissa drift back to sleep, an angel, her wet thumb falling out of her mouth to rest by her ear. Crawling back under the covers in his freshly pressed shirt, tie, and boxer shorts, he wrapped his arm around his wife’s growing waistline and placed his hand on her belly. Waiting to feel the baby kick, he closed his eyes and tried not to think about the long work day ahead. A moment in bed with his wife, their daughter, their unborn son Matthew, the rain on the roof. ~ Life Is All This by Sheila Blanchette.

It is often hard to put aside our daily hassles, to live in the moment, and to forgive the mistakes we make on a daily basis. I would love to be a full time writer and someday I plan to be just that, but this morning I realized for now how much I also want to be an innkeeper.

Life Is All This.

Happy Hour at the Inn

4 thoughts on “Your Instincts Can Be Trusted

  1. It is soothing to read your musings and reflections. I recall vividly this passage from “Life Is All This.” It is such a lovely book, one that I always recall with emotion, warmth, and a smile. Despite much sadness, it is balanced with joy and appreciation for simplicity, and for all of what life brings our way. I think as we get older we appreciate more these special, ordinary moments. Today we celebrate our older son’s 35th birthday, a good time to reflect on life’s journey.
    Thank you for this lovely post.
    (I would not mind having that breakfast and bottle of wine).

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you, Connie. I think we do step back and try to slow down and enjoy the moments as we get older but then again, some days we don’t, but we realize we need to try harder at enjoying the simple things. Happy birthday to your son! And come visit anytime.

      Like

  2. I hadn’t planned on ordering a book this month, but your good reviews on Amazon broke me down. Can’t wait to read it. Oh, and I have a mysterious craving for strawberries and blueberries. What’s that all about?
    Lucky you, to be in New England when fall foliage is on the way…

    Liked by 1 person

Why not leave a reply?

