Do Your Job Kim Davis

Yesterday I wrote a Facebook post that received some very positive feedback so I thought I would share it here on my blog.

It was only a few weeks ago that I wrote a piece about a long day at the DMV where most of the workers on the government payroll were kind and patient but it was at BJ’s where I came across a young man who understood the meaning of “It’s My Job”.

Today the clerks in Ms. Davis’ office are giving marriage licenses to gay couples, as they should. It is their job, despite what Kim Davis’ husband told reporters outside the courthouse.

“She has done her job,” he said. “Just because five Supreme Court judges make a ruling, it’s not a law.”

Sorry Mr. Davis, it is your wife’s job to issue marriage licenses. And as for the Supreme Court’s decision, that’s the way things work here in America. We are a nation of laws and they are the highest court in the land.

Here’s the Facebook post:

So, I just have to say something about this crazy case in Kentucky regarding the county clerk who is now in jail because she won’t issue marriage licenses to gay couples. It astounds me that so many Americans do not understand the Constitution. Kim Davis is free to practice what ever religion she believes without fear of prosecution. She is not free to impose her religion on the rest of us.

We are a nation of laws and the Supreme Court has ruled it is lawful for gay couples to marry. Period. It amazes me that in the case of Hobby Lobby the religious right’s answer to the problem is women who want their employer to provide birth control in their insurance policy can find another job. Well, the same goes for Ms. Davis. If her religious beliefs don’t allow her to sign marriage licenses, she can find another job.

No one is holding her hostage at her desk. If she can’t do her job she can resign. Of course, she is making $80,000 a year in a job her mother held in an office where her son also works. Nice work if you can find it. I myself have never made $80,000 but if I did, say at a job where my employer made me refuse service to gay couples, I would simply quit.

One comment in the NY Times explained this dilemma perfectly: “I am an Orthodox Jew. I can’t eat milk and meat together as per my own personal beliefs. But if I were a county clerk, and someone wanted to open up a cheeseburger joint, I’d have absolutely zero right as a government official to deny that person his permit on the grounds of the rules of my religion.”

That’s it in a nutshell. It’s time we made Civics a required course in high school again.

5 thoughts on “Do Your Job Kim Davis

  1. I’ve always said that those decrying “It’s my right under Free Speech” should have to be able to define what the Bill of Rights actually says on that subject.

    Right on!

    Like

  2. As a public school employee and American citizen I couldn’t agree more about civics being brought back to public schools maybe some time in middle school. The example of the burger joint is priceless. Kim Davis put herself in jail.

    Like

Why not leave a reply?

