Don’t Quit Your Day Dream

I’ve been absolutely terrified every moment of my life – and I’ve never let it keep me from doing a single thing I wanted to do. ~Georgia O’Keeffe

Most of you know my story by now. The years working in accounting, finally ending up in a cubicle and losing my mind. It came down to write a book or slit my wrist, so I wrote The Reverse Commute. This is not hyperbole. For me, it really was that bad.

When my younger daughter graduated from high school and left for college in Denver, her Dad and I sold the house, loaded up the truck and moved to Florida, where life was cheaper than living in a drafty, 296 year old house with $800 a month heating bills from November through April.

But am I the only crazy lady out there? Are other people taking chances in their fifties? Throwing caution to the wind and trying new things? Chasing long lost dreams? Seizing the day?

No, I have discovered I am not. There are lots of other people out there doing just that, and over the past two years, I have heard their stories. Some of them are friends and relatives, and others contact me through my blog. They’ve read The Reverse Commute and Take Me Home. They are inspired by the stories to try new things or to try that old thing they always wanted to do, but never had the time or the courage to throw caution to the wind.

So throughout the new year, I am going to tell some of their stories. Look for my first interview later this week.

If you have a story to share, please contact me by email at sheilablanchettetheauthor@gmail.com  

The most important thing is life is to stop saying I wish and start saying I will. Consider nothing impossible, then treat possibilities as probabilities. ~ Charles Dickens

Why not leave a reply?

