Andy’s Artichoke Mushroom Pizza

You must be wondering where the pizza recipes are. Come on, admit it. I know you are. After all, Take Me Home is a novel about a couple who open a pizzeria on the North Fork of Long Island. I’ve given you soup recipes and a couple of salads but where are the pizzas?

I don’t often make pizza at home but recently I asked myself, why the hell not? It’s a great way to use leftovers and now that Trader Joe’s has arrived in Delray Beach and Boca Raton I can buy their awesome Organic Pizza Crust. Blank Slates Ready to Dress. I like that.

photo-6

Now we all know Andy would make his own pizza dough. (Because we all have read the book, correct?)

Josie peeked over the service counter, spying on Andy making pizza. He was tossing the dough in the air, laughing with his prep cook who was chopping mushrooms. She smiled, grabbed the crimini mushroom and spelt pizza from the counter and headed to the table where a famous local author she just met was dining with his wife and daughter, drinking wine and enjoying her soup of the day, a springtime cream of pea puree with fresh mint.  ~ From Take Me Home by Sheila Blanchette

But Andy’s a restauranteur running an upscale pizza joint. We’re working people with limited time and this is the perfect work night meal. And I’ve finally got Trader Joe’s nearby!

So here we go, the first pizza from the fictitious Whole Pie Pizzeria.

ARTICHOKE MUSHROOM PIZZA

You can of course make your own dough but if not Trader Joe’s Organic Pizza Crust makes a thin, crunchy crust of restaurant quality. I like to bake it a little before I put the toppings on, at 350 degrees. It does bubble up but if you press gently then add your toppings, it settles down. I heat for about 5 minutes and then add the toppings.

Sprinkle cheese on the pizza crust. This particular night I had a bag of 5 cheese pizza in the fridge (Asiago, Parmesan, Romano, Cheddar and Provolone).

Add  toppings:

Sauteed mushrooms

Corn (I had a leftover ear of corn so I used fresh but you can use frozen)

Artichokes (Canned or marinated in a jar. I had some left over from the eggs benedict my husband made)

2 slices of bacon, cooked and broken up in pieces

Bake in the pre-heated 350 degree oven. Cooking time is on the package. The edges and bottom should be lightly browned and the cheese melted. Sprinkle slivers of parmesan reggianno on top and serve.

As Ina Garten would say, How easy is that?

Pizza

Why not leave a reply?

