Cheesy Cream of Cauliflower Soup

I’m in the middle of preparing for a book promotion in early November. A sale, a contest, an author’s interview with a website that contacted me. I need to time all of this to make a big splash and sell a lot of books. Take Me Home needs more sales before I contact literary agents with Book Three, for that is what I think I am going to do with the next book. Go the traditional route. Or at least try.

So before November, what sells books? I have no clue but the cooking blogs seem to draw in new readers and last week I promised my Facebook followers a recipe for cauliflower soup.

It’s autumn. Somewhere in America. Not here in Florida, we are still baking in the sun. So although I am craving baked quick breads and soups, it’s hard to motivate myself to make hearty, warm, cold weather foods when it is still ninety degrees outside. But what the heck, let’s crank up the A.C. and pretend.

We had this soup with homemade pizza (recipe coming later this week. A real Whole Pie Pizzeria meal.

She brought them drinks on the house and told them about the farmers’ market in town, the fresh vegetables they used on the pizza, and the best wineries to visit. The actor loved her gazpacho, she gave him the recipe. The rock star asked if she could meet “the pizza man”. “I’ll go get him,” said Josie. “He’s a little shy.” ~ Take Me Home by Sheila Blanchette

CHEESY CREAM OF CAULIFLOWER SOUP

4 tblsp butter

1 leek, rinsed, dried and sliced

1 medium onion, chopped

1 carrot, peeled and chopped

1/2 tsp dried thyme

6 cups chicken stock

1 head of cauliflower, broken into small flowerets, stems chopped

1 cup milk

1 cup half and half

2 handfuls (about one cup) cheese-I used a mix of asiago, mozzarella, provolone, romano, fontina, and parmesan from a bag. Just plain swiss or cheddar is good too.

1) Melt the butter in a stockpot over medium high heat. Add the leek, onion, and carrot and cook, stirring occasionally, for 10 minutes. Stir in thyme and cook one minute longer.

2) Reduce heat to medium and stir in the stock. Season with salt and pepper then add the cauliflower. Simmer soup uncovered, stirring occasionally, for 30 minutes.

3) Let soup cool then puree in a blender or food processor and rerun to pot. Stir in the milk and cream. Gently heat over medium low, adding two handfuls of cheese, one at a time, stirring constantly until melted and heated through. Serve hot.

*** I served this with homemade croutons. To the reader who asked how I make them, I melt 2 Tblsp butter in a pan and add chopped stale bread, usually a loaf of bakery ciabatta, and toss in the melted butter then cook until lightly golden brown, tossing occasionally. Do not walk away while doing this or you’ll burn the croutons, as I have learned the hard way.

photo-6

Why not leave a reply?

