French Onion Soup

This might not count as a recipe. It’s just too easy. My friend Mary Jane makes her French onion soup from left over pot roast made in her crockpot. I do that too but the other night we had beef stew. Carrots, potatoes, onions, mushrooms, and stew meat simmered in beef broth, sherry and a dash of brandy, served over bow tie noodles. It was so delicious we had very little left over, not enough for another meal. I got home late from work, took the stew out of the fridge and wondered how I could stretch this meal. Then I remembered I had a can of Progresso French Onion soup. I added that to the stew and while it heated up on the stove top, I toasted some sourdough bread, and grated cheese. Luckily, I had a wedge of gruyere in the fridge.

When the soup was just warm, I ladled it into two bowls, placed the bread on top then covered it with the cheese. I popped it in the oven until the cheese melted. Voila! Serve with a salad and a glass of red wine and you’ve got a delicious working woman’s meal in a matter of minutes.

Josie, in my new novel Take Me Home, may make her soups “out of scratch” as my younger daughter says, but I’m sure there is many a night she cheats, too.

After visiting the Art Institute, they stopped at a cozy pub with dark wood and a gas fireplace, sharing a large crock of French onion soup and warm buttery rolls. “Can you make this?” Andy asked, blowing on a big steaming spoonful. “Of course, more peasant food. Beef stock, onions, stale bread and good gruyere, doesn’t get much better than that. Did you know there’s a dish called slumgullion? It’s a stew you make from leftovers. I am the queen of slumgullion.” “You should write a cookbook . The Middle Class Mom’s Meals on a Tight Budget.”

Image

Enjoy and Happy Reading!

2 thoughts on “French Onion Soup

  1. Not sure how this ties in with the walking gig… Maybe all that walking across the kitchen getting the grater, bread and can of soup. Ha!
    I took a hint from you and made a Barefoot Contessa recipe – baked chicken with garlic and lemon – absolutely delicious! I served it with rice and sauteed zucchini and summer squash with dill and feta cheese. Good enough for company if I do say so myself. Ina Garten, she makes some good simple stuff.

    Like

    • Dear Redhead, This is not the walking gig. This is under the category of Recipes from the books. I love Ina Garten. Her list of ingredients is short and her recipes are easy. Her shrimp and orzo salad is a one of my top 5 recipes. I take it everywhere-a great potluck, tailgate dish.

      Like

Why not leave a reply?

