Walking Days 302-310 Good Vibes

There is nothing like looking, if you want to find something. You certainly usually find something, if you look, but it is not always quite like the something you were after. ~ J.R.R. Tolkien

 Image

I know, I’ve been MIA. Not really. I’ve actually been very busy. My parents visited last week. I wrote a piece for the Huffington Post which has yet to be published. I’m hoping this means I will be “above the fold”. Sometimes when it takes awhile to get posted I get a better placement. I hope this is the case because it’s a very thoughtful piece about my Mom and Alzheimer’s. It was difficult to write.

But the real reason I’ve been MIA? I’ve been spending most of my time writing Book Three.

I didn’t think it would happen this fast. I thought it would take awhile for the idea to come to me. I just published Take Me Home in January. I was afraid I’d be struck by writer’s block. No, not happening. I’m on page seventy and the words are spilling on the page.

I’m always on the lookout for something unusual to write about, something out of the ordinary on an ordinary day. So I drove to Lantana to check out the newly opened bridge. Actually it’s been open for a few months but I somehow hadn’t made my way over here.

After crossing the bridge, I came across the Lantana Nature Preserve, a lovely little spot between the Intracoastal and Hypoluxo Island.

Image

East Ocean Avenue is thriving now that the bridge is finished. New businesses are popping up in the shops lining the street on the west side of the bridge and today I discovered a little gem.

Image

Good Vibes opened just 2 weeks ago. Tara Huber and Finn Maurice left their corporate jobs to make the food and drinks they serve here with love, as their menu states, and they are loving life. They too are chasing a dream.

In need of a caffeine boost, I visited the shop just before closing time and ended up chatting with them for about a half hour. Tara made me an iced coffee. The menu includes fresh brews, espressos, Cuban coladas, cappucinos and lattes as well as Tara’s Terrible Coffees. My iced coffee was honestly one of the best I’ve ever had. I used far less cream than I usually do and it was oh so delicious.

They also serve homemade baked goods, steel cut oatmeal, smoothies, lunch salads, sandwiches, and cold pressed juices.

I told them about leaving my cubicle and writing a book. We had so much in common. Finn showed me the sign he had a local artist make.

Image

They reminded me of Andy and Josie in Take Me Home

There wasn’t an available seat in the house, the bar stools were full, and four or five people lingered around the couch near the bar, one man sitting on the arm, sipping a local microbrew. Whole Pie Pizzeria was humming like a well oiled engine. Andy had a business plan and it was working. He trained his employees well and it helped that Josie was out front working with the team. She cleared the tables, helped the waitstaff deliver food and drinks, and chatted with everyone. Always a social butterfly, she was making new friends and contacts. People loved the hometown feel of the place and the pizza and soups were getting rave reviews. Before they even began advertising, word was quickly spreading.

I took my iced coffee to go, along with two muffins,  blueberry and  banana nut. It was a hot, muggy day but my coffee continued to taste delicious. The ice cubes were made from coffee.

Image

Tara and Finn really do make their food and drinks with love and their attention to detail makes all the difference. Like a good wine, the iced coffee got better with age.

Image

Good Vibes is at 219 East Ocean Avenue Lantana, FL  Stop by when you’re in the area and check them out on their Facebook page.

One thought on “Walking Days 302-310 Good Vibes

  1. Great idea – the ice cubes made of coffee. Of course here in New England all you have to do is open your car window and your whole cup of iced coffee will freeze, not just the cubes. We need spring.
    Since its been so cold though I tried the carrot, potato, cheese and dill soup you posted a few weeks ago and it was delicious. I am not much of a dill fan but it added a depth of flavor that was remarkable and not overpowering. My croutons were disappointing though. I feel like I should have brushed them with olive oil or seasonings.

    Like

Why not leave a reply?

