Walking ~ Days 218-221 Christmas in the Tropics

It’s Christmas in the tropics. I am aware of the fact it is snowing at home. A lot. I see Facebook postings of four hour commutes and icy roads. Rich spoke to a friend this morning and heard it is cold, gray, miserable, and starting to rain. The snow may be gone by Christmas Day. Seriously? What is the point of it all if you are dreaming of a white Christmas?

Let’s get one thing clear here, this year I am not dreaming of a white Christmas.The purpose of my walks this past week have been to find Christmas in a tropical oasis. It’s out there folks, it really is.

Image

This style of Santa decoration is very popular around here. On Sunday I walked through a nearby neighborhood along the Intracoastal and saw him on many front lawns. I even caught him sneaking up on a golfer. He must have balls in his bag!

Image

I am a big fan of Santa decorations. Most of my tree ornaments are Santas. I always wrapped my children’s Christmas presents in Santa Claus paper, because originally they were from Santa, right? This year I had to mail the gifts to Colorado. My husband and I are alone for the holiday, both the girls working at hotels that do a big seasonal business. They are getting together on Sunday in Denver to open their gifts, wrapped in Santa paper. I am trying to keep traditions alive, despite the miles.

Image

At the moment, my first Christmas in Florida isn’t bothering me, and if it does, I will fly to Denver next year for a white Christmas. I’ll keep you posted on how this actually pans out. In the meantime, here’s an easy way to decorate a front lawn palm tree if you have a long ladder:

Image

On Wednesday I found myself walking the Pineapple Grove neighborhood of Delray.

Image

I wandered over to the park where the big tree is located.

Image

Santa Claus sits inside this tree. There is also a big chair for photo opportunities.

Image

If you find yourself in long lines waiting to give Santa your Christmas gift list and you get a little thirsty, you can grab yourself an ice cold Coke.

Image

I myself am going to check out a new Pineapple Grove tequila bar when I finish this blog.

Image

Maybe I will run into this guy again. I bumped into him on my Wednesday walk. He and his wife were dressed as Mr. and Mrs. Claus and their dog was wearing reindeer antlers. It was just another Wednesday morning in Delray.

Image

These are a really easy palm tree accoutrement. They grow right on the tree at this time of year. Serendipity.

Image

Even golf carts get decorated around here.

Image

I know it’s not snow. But as Rich said that night in Boca, there were palm trees at the very first Christmas. So on my very first Christmas in the tropics, I am enjoying the scenery. So far, so good.

Image

Why not leave a reply?

