Walking ~ Days 211-214 World Weary & Discouraged

I got in short walks on Monday-Wednesday. I worked all three days, Monday and Tuesday in Boca I did a physical inventory for the Juice Guys and Tuesday in Pompano I was at the new job. All week I had the health insurance issue hanging over my head. I had registered with Obamacare but still had to choose my plan, or so I thought. It wasn’t as easy as I hoped it would be. I won’t get into it here, you can find it on my blog.

By 5:15, I was exhausted and aggravated. Darkness was descending but I decided to take a walk. I needed to calm down and diffuse my anger. I headed for the beach.

Now I know I’ve told you about the beach a mile from my apartment. First it was public, but with no parking, making it public but unaccessible. Then someone planted a private sign. Then the sign was gone.

Tonight I desperately needed the beach. A brisk, warm breeze was blowing. The sky was full of stars. I tried to forget the troubles of the world. My husband’s back injury and the loss of work it was bringing about. The endless bills no one can escape even when you sell the farm, all the furniture, and a lot of the trappings of middle class life. The shit still follows you, wherever you go. The middle class is stuck in a vice that just squeezes tighter and tighter.

The day on the phone trying to secure affordable health and car insurance got me down. I wanted to get my feet in the sand. But as I crossed the walkway, this is what I saw.

Image

Not one, but two signs on either side of the boardwalk leading to the beach. As you can see, it was dark when I arrived at the shore but I immediately noticed something funny about this sign. Sure, it’s got the fancy blue frame, the blue print, and the little waves along the bottom, but the other signs around here have the Town of  Ocean Ridge seal on them. Like this one which welcomes you to the PUBLIC access path leading to this beach.

Image

You can see whoever returned this sign to the beach is trying to copy the town signs. I was very tempted to kick the signs over. I was furious. I could feel my blood boiling. I left the beach over the boardwalk that the town built, past the trash barrel the town placed there. I was thinking, how dare THEY  do this. I passed a “Private” road and defiantly walked down it.

Image

Private drive my ass.

I find this amusing. America has climbed to third in the world for income discrepancy. As the income gap increases, as the haves manage to get more and more than the have nots, as life becomes more and more difficult for the middle class, I wonder just what these people are trying to do with their private roads, their gated communities, and their private beaches. They are apparently worried about something. They know something is out of whack here. They’re scared.

And they should be. Society’s with large income discrepancies and a shrinking middle class usually end up experiencing social and political upheaval. They reap what they sow. So, I suppose these wealthy folks who want to keep you off the beach and off their streets are trying to protect what they think is theirs. Thomas Jefferson once said, “a periodic revolution at least once every 20 years is a medicine necessary for the sound health of government.” He also said, I hold it that a little rebellion now and then is a good thing, and as necessary in the political world as storms in the physical.

As I write my live blogs about struggling to obtain affordable healthcare and read people’s responses to it, the frustration everyone feels as they work harder and harder trying to make ends meet is self evident. I feel a storm brewing and pretty little blue signs with the elitist warning Private, Keep Out, will not protect the haves for very long. The times they are a changin’.

“Was a great high wall there that tried to stop me. Was a great big sign that said Private Property but on the back it didn’t say nothing. That side was made for you and me.” ~ Woody Guthrie.

Walking usually soothes my soul. Tonight it didn’t quite work that way.

Why not leave a reply?

