The Road to Affordable Healthcare-The Sequel (Part 5)

1:45 PM It appears we have successfully made our way through the application. I have verbally sworn my husband and I are not convicted felons and I understand I am liable for the information I provided, and it is the whole truth and nothing but the truth. The rep hits enter, we both cross our fingers, legs and arms, and I am in. I now have a third application number. She verbally gives it to me over the phone.

My husband has left to deal with the auto insurance people. He took the checkbook. Never a good thing. The healthcare rep told me to wait at least two hours before my new application number appears on the website. I will need to return to the website to purchase the insurance of my choice.

In the meantime, I have received a phone call from Accountemps offering me another assignment once a month with an IT expert In Boca, helping with billing clients on the 1st of the month and making collection calls. I took a break to call him. He sounds like a nice guy. I am meeting him Monday afternoon after the Juice Guys. Lord knows I need the money to cover my insurance nut. I have turned into a job magnet. All of the jobs are freelance which means no insurance but I am no longer willing to work for the man 40 hours a week, 50 weeks a year. I am trying to make a living writing. I can not risk another breakdown in a cubicle. I couldn’t afford my bills doing that anyway, so I am determined to spend my days my way. I will suffer the consequences.

At 2:25 I check the Obamacare website. My new case number is not there yet but the other two old ones are still hanging out. I start a load of laundry and return to make a bloody Mary. I have no idea where this is going to end and what I will I do if the new case number doesn’t appear on the website.

I am going to put this on the back burner and sip my Bloody while rereading my newly edited 2nd novel and getting ready to send it to an Amazon formatter. My best shot at a stress free life is to get this book published and wait for a movie deal.

If you are following my travails and are a fifty something actress looking for a meaty roll that Meryl Streep hasn’t grabbed, please contact me. (I am talking to you, Susan Sarandon, Michelle Pfieffer, Melanie Griffin, Kelly Preston, Rita Wilson, Andi MacDowell, Julia Louis Dreyfus, Julianne Moore. Or anyone else I may have missed.) The character of Josie Wolcott is screaming out to you. I’ll send you an advance copy of the book.

Why not leave a reply?

