Walking ~ Days 187-190 ~ Searching for a Title

I am sending Novel Number Two to the editor a week from today. I am done fiddling and noodling and tweaking. There are times, just like with children, that you have to let them go and send them out into the world.

I visited with a good friend this weekend. The friend I traveled with to Joshua Tree National Park. She was only here for three days visiting her mother, but we got to do lunch at the Key Lime House and I drove her to the airport. On the way home, I took a wrong turn and stumbled upon an historic neighborhood, set right on the intracoastal.

Imageg

I loved the houses and the streets, so I parked the car and took a walk.

“Walking is the perfect way of moving if you want to see into the life of things. It is the way to freedom. If you go to a place on anything but your own feet you are taken there too fast, and miss a thousand delicate joys that were waiting for you by the wayside.” ~ Elizabeth von Armin, The Adventures of Elizabeth in Rugen

Walking is definitely the way to get the feel of a place. You miss so much just driving by. Things like this:

Image

And if I hadn’t been walking, I wouldn’t have been able to peek through the gate to see the Tribute to the Bad Dog:

Image

I loved the streets of this neighborhood:

Image

There were sidewalks everywhere, which as a walker I appreciate.
 Image
And because this was an historic neighborhood, the houses were older and, in my opinion, nicer. They had character, like this interesting door that needs a little TLC.
Image
I have come across lots of books about walking. Wanderlust: A History of Walking by Rebecca Solnit . The Lost Art of Walking by Geoff Nicholson.“All truly great thoughts are conceived while walking.” ~ Freidrich Nietzsche   I remember studying Neitzsche in college. I recall thinking he was a chauvinist.
I’m very busy trying to come up with cover ideas and  a title. I don’t have a title. This is very hard. So I went out for a walk as the sun began to set.
Image

“I have walked myself into my best thoughts and I know of no thought so burdensome that one cannot walk away from it.” ~ Soren Kierkegaard

Image

The colors at the beach were amazing. I would love an entire wardrobe in all these shades of blue.
Image
I am happy to report the Private Beach sign is gone. I am not sure who put it there, it looked like all the other town signs. No Parking, Private Street, etc. All this is mine, you don’t belong here kind of bullshit. But it’s gone, someone must have complained. I am happy, no longer complaining. In celebration of this victory for the common man:
“I shall wear white flannel trousers, and walk upon the beach.” T.S. Eliot
I have a dozen title ideas but all of them are not The One. It was getting dark. I walked back over the bridge with this man in front of me:
Image
I saw him on the beach earlier. He looks like a character in my book. I thought he might live in my building but he took a right into the Winn Dixie parking lot, got in a jeep and drove away. It’s the beach parking problem here in Boynton Beach. The Private Beach sign may be gone, but the No Parking signs are still there. I am glad to see a fellow rebel who doesn’t let that deter him. He’s also a fellow walker who set off over the bridge and went for a swim. I see this as a sign, the title will come to me. Maybe I should take another walk.

 

My grandmother started walking five miles a day when she was sixty. She’s 97 now, and we don’t know where the heck she is.” ~ Ellen DeGeneres

Why not leave a reply?

