Walking ~ Days 53-58

I’ve been very busy editing and cleaning up Novel #2. As I mentioned, I am bringing the first draft to my sister in R.I. this Sunday. We are in New England for four days this weekend to attend a family wedding. The following is a quick summary of my walks over the last few days, as I write, edit, work a temp job, and hang out with my husband.

Day 53

We hit the beach again. Back to Ocean Ridge. I notice a limo in front of the house that to me is a symbol of all that is wrong with America income inequality. An ostentatious display of wealth in the era of Wall Street robber barons and bank bailouts. Each time I drive by it, I can’t help but ask how did we get back to the roaring 20’s? What happened to the safety net FDR put in place? Well, we know the answers to these questions, but I have now also discovered the answer to the question, who the hell owns this house?

Image

Alvin Malnik, that’s who. A mob lawyer and owner of The Forge restaurant, among other things. I’m trying to find out if the waiters, waitresses and bartenders at The Forge have health insurance, because I just happen to think if one of the homes you own has 11 bedrooms and 18 1/2 baths, you should provide your employees with some decent benefits. That’s just my opinion. Maybe he does. I hope he does.

Scroll down to the second post on this website, to read more about the house that Malnik built.

The surf was rough, the wind was blowing on shore, kicking up sand and sea spray every once in awhile.

Image

I walked the beach then we went to the Old Key Lime House where I gathered some wisdom from the bathroom walls of the ladies room. My husband reports there is no wisdom in the men’s room.

Image

Day 54

Tired, raining. Walked the neighborhood between raindrops.

Day 55

I golfed with Rich, which involved walking. We had a cart but he hits the ball much further than me. I walked the fairway shots a lot. I haven’t golfed in at least fifteen years. I got off a few good shots, golfed the first nine holes, then rode the cart and helped Rich hunt for lost balls.

Image

He is practicing for our trip to New England. Everyone thinks he’s been golfing a lot and playing on a par with Tiger Woods. As you can see from the above photo, he is not. He’s been working a lot. He hasn’t golfed much at all. We vow to rectify this situation. He’s still not bad most of the time. He was pleased with his game overall.

Image

Day 56

Temping with the Juice Guys in Boca. Worked until two. Spent the afternoon editing. Walked the neighborhood.

Day 57

Temped for two hours in the morning. I need to speak to them about consolidating the work. I am not getting paid enough to drive to work for two hours. I am anxious to get home and wrap up the editing, but I stop in Delray to take a walk on Atlantic Avenue. I need earrings to match the dress I am wearing to the wedding and I know just the place on Atlantic Avenue to buy them. It’s a nice day, not too warm. I get two miles in, then find a perfect pair of earrings and get home by two. Back to editing.

Image

Image

Day 58

I am still editing. It’s always nerve wracking when you’re about to give someone your book to read for the very first time. You’ve worked on it for so long, you’ve read it so many times, you start to think it’s crap.

We are looking at house for sale this afternoon. I am also going to walk. I promise. By Sunday, the book will be in my Ideal Reader’s hands. I will have more time to blog. And walk, starting back in New Hampshire this weekend.

One thought on “Walking ~ Days 53-58

  1. Love the bathroom wisdom. The same is true of drinking cheap wine, just not worth the time. Be careful dissing the mob lawyer, he may come get you.

    Like

Why not leave a reply?

