Welcome

Welcome to my Internet Home. I am a writer and this is one of the places I write.

I have an edge. Sarcasm and irony are two of my favorite things.

I am a wide eyed optimist. I love a happy ending.

This is the dichotomy that is me. Lou Reed meets Jack Johnson.

I also like music. All kinds of music. When I wrote that second line about my favorite things my mind immediately jumped to The Sound of Music. Raindrops on roses and whiskers on kittens.

I just published my third novel, Life Is All This, which includes a lot of song references. I am also the author of The Reverse Commute and Take Me Home. All are available on Amazon and if you just move over to the long hallway to your right you can click on their covers and buy the books. I would love for you to buy the books.

Oh, I forgot to tell you, I am working on shameless promotion. It’s a requirement in my job description. Self published indie author. One Woman Show. We all do it. It’s the way books are sold now. Blogging, tweeting, Facebooking, Pinning, and Instagramming. I am everywhere and if you travel down the hallway to the right, you will find a door leading to each and every one of those places where you can find me. I am everywhere.

I spent a year walking and blogging about it. It’s my year long story of exploring my new home in South Florida, a strange land indeed. It’s also a story of my becoming a writer and the inspiration I found all around me. What I Need is All Around Me. That’s Dave Matthews, someone I shared a brief, intimate moment with.

My perfect day would be living in Diane Keaton’s house in the movie Something’s Gotta Give. You know, the one with Jack Nicholson? Diane Keaton’s character is a successful playwright and lives in a beautiful home on the beach in the Hamptons. I want to be that woman. Writing at my desk early in the morning as the sun rises over the ocean, my coffee mug on my beautiful desk in my beautiful home designed in the style of a Nancy Meyers movie.

Are you thinking Talking Heads? Because I am. You know, on my beautiful desk in my beautiful house? My mind leaps to Once in a Lifetime: And you may find yourself in a beautiful house, with a beautiful wife…. Sorry, I can’t help myself. The music is everywhere.

So, here you are. Welcome. Make yourselves at home. Explore the rooms. They’re all listed above in my menu. The Road Trips, the Writing Inspiration, the Walking. This year I am exploring A Slice of American Life. Like my novels, the stories I tell here are slice of life stories. I am also conducting interviews with Day Dream Believers, other baby boomers who believe you are never too old to be who you really wanted to be. Or to paraphrase Colin Hay (formerly of the band Men At Work), it’s never too late to begin your real life.

There is also an odd little room called Stories About Gas Stations. One day I realized I had written several blogs about gas stations so I gave those stories their own room. They seem to be appropriately American stories-cars and gas and open roads.

My husband and I recently moved from South Florida to New England to manage an inn. It is a bit of the old adage truth is stranger than fiction. A plot line from a novel becoming a real life story. A woman writes a book then ends up living the story. You’ll have to read the books to find out what I’m talking about.

So stick around for awhile and follow my adventures, read my books, and join the discussion. Make yourself at home. I serve food here too. It used to be on the menu but I ran out of room. Search Recipes From The Books. Dinner is served at seven.

 

10 thoughts on “Welcome

  1. Sheila, I think your writing style is phenomenal! Maybe because it’s the crazy way my mind works, too? Though you seem a bit more out there than I am, internally there’s a hurricane going on at any given moment. I also think you’re an admirable if not outstanding shameless promoter. Of course I’m going to go right over to the aisle on the right and see what’s cooking. (Don’t get nervous. I’m not coming for supper–yet.) I’m honored by the follow.
    Elouise

    Liked by 1 person

Why not leave a reply?

